In Honour of Valentines Day, A Tribute to My One True Love – Books

I love books. I love the feel of them, the texture of the pages, the feel of a beautifully embossed cover under my fingertips, the weight of a stunning hardcover edition. I love the smell – new book smell, old book smell, ink, dust and paper of varying ages.

I love traveling to new worlds, meeting new people, falling in love with fictional characters and learning all about new cultures – even if they are fantastical ones that don’t really exist, there is always something new to learn.

Anna Quindlen Quote
I love what books teach me about myself and the world around me. Books shaped me into who I am, the books I read as a teen and young adult especially opening my eyes to many issues, shaping me into a more tolerant and empathetic human being.

IMG_3025-0

As I got older and eBooks arrived, I appreciated the improved access to free digital editions of the classics, and the affordability and portability of new eBooks. However, I will always purchase my favourites as physical books as well. My library is a treasured collection that I have been gathering since I was a child, full of treasured memories and wonderful stories contained in beautiful books (including a TBR pile nearly as tall as I am šŸ™‚ ).

In honour of books and their impact on my life, here is a great collection of quotes expressing the unique magic that is a book.



 

I hope you enjoyed these quotes about the magic of books. Do you have any favourite book quotes that I have missed? Please share them in the comments.

4 thoughts on “In Honour of Valentines Day, A Tribute to My One True Love – Books

  1. “everyone is a book of blood; whenever we’re opened, we’re red” – Clive Barker… in a different spirit some of the most memorable books to me are also the ones where there are no friends, rather the author opens you up, strips away any comforts and forces you to look in the mirror. Anyway my 2 cents, good post, your passion for books is admirable.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree that the types of books you describe, that force you to confront yourself, can indeed have the most profound effects on an individual. And it has been far too long since I’ve read the Books of Blood. Must re-read them again soon šŸ™‚ Thank you for commenting, have a great week.

      Like

    • iBooks also has the classics for free. There is also a great app for iPad/iPhone (I’m not sure about other devices) called FreeBooks, which has an enormous collection of classic books from every genre in one convenient place. And back before tablets and smartphones there was the good old Gutenberg Project (which is still available by the way, and also has a fantastic collection of titles, some of which won’t be found anywhere else). Thanks for reading and commenting šŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

