Quotes on Writing from R L Stine, Dean Koontz and Anne Rice

Dean Koontz Quote  
“If something in your writing gives support to people in their lives, that’s more than just entertainment-which is what we writers all struggle to do, to touch people.” ~ Dean Koontz 

“I like to deal with EVERY aspect of our condition, and that means terror and humor in equal mix. Some books have more room for humor than others.” ~ Dean Koontz 

“Each reader needs to bring his or her own mind and heart to the text.” ~Dean Koontz 

“Your mind always does worse things than people can show in a movie.” ~ Dean Koontz

“I don’t write a quick draft and then revise; instead, I work slowly page by page, revising and polishing.” ~ Dean Koontz 

“Never, never try to scope the market.” ~ Dean Koontz 

Anne Rice Quote 
“First-person narrators is the way I know how to write a book with the greatest power and chance of artistic success.
” ~ Anne Rice 

“To write something, you have to risk making a fool of yourself. ” ~ Anne Rice 

“Obviously, a writer can’t know everything about what she writes. It’s impossible. ” ~ Anne Rice 

“Obsession led me to write. It’s been that way with every book I’ve ever written. I become completely consumed by a theme, by characters, by a desire to meet a challenge. ” ~ Anne Rice 

“I loved words. I love to sing them and speak them and even now, I must admit, I have fallen into the joy of writing them.” ~ Anne Rice

 R L Stine Quote 
“There’s no formula. I think you have to create a very close point of view. You have to be in the eyes of the narrator. Everything that happens, all the smells, all the sounds; then your reader starts to identify with that character and that’s what makes something really scary.”
~ R L Stine

“If you do enough planning before you start to write, there’s no way you can have writer’s block. I do a complete chapter by chapter outline.”
~ R L Stine

“I have a cheat-sheet for each one of my characters about their personality, the way they look, etc. So there is no possible way that I could have writer’s block.”
~ R L Stine

“People say, ‘Your book keeps giving me chills,’ but I don’t know what that feeling is. Horror always makes me laugh. Normal adult things scare me, but not things from a book or a movie.”
~ R L Stine

“Most fears are basic: fear of the dark, fear of going down in the basement, fear of weird sounds, fear that somebody is waiting for you in your closet. Those kinds of things stay with you no matter what age.”
~ R L Stine

“An editor once wrote on the top of a manuscript I’d written: ‘Needs more lore.’ MORE LORE is the best advice I ever got.” ~ R L Stine

“I feel that good fantasy will always be in demand. I think children especially need literature that helps them escape from the real world, which is very scary to them right now.”
R L Stine

Leave a Reply

