13 Favourite Quotes from The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Here are 13 of my favourite quotes from The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, by Robert Louis Stevenson, another one of my favourite novels.

  
1.

“I began to perceive more deeply than it has ever yet been stated, the trembling immateriality, the mistlike transience, of this seemingly so solid body in which we walk attired.” 

2.

“It was on the moral side, and in my own person, that I learned to recognise the thorough and primitive duality of man.”

3.

“I learned to recognise the thorough and primitive duality of man; I saw that, of the two natures that contended in the field of my consciousness, even if I could rightly be said to be either, it was only because I was radically both.” 

4.

“I sometimes think if we knew all, we should be more glad to get away.”

5.

“Quiet minds cannot be perplexed or frightened but go on in fortune or misfortune at their own private pace, like a clock during a thunderstorm. ” 

6.

“All human beings, as we meet them, are commingled out of good and evil: and Edward Hyde, alone, in the ranks of mankind, was pure evil.”

7.

“A moment before I had been safe of all men’s respect, wealthy, beloved – the cloth laying for me in the dining room at home; and now I was the common quarry of mankind, hunted, houseless, a known murderer, thrall to the gallows.” 

8.

“Under the strain of this continually impending doom and by the sleeplessness to which I now condemned myself, ay, even beyond what I had thought possible to man, I became, in my own person, a creature eaten up and emptied by fever, languidly weak both in body and mind, and solely occupied by one thought: the horror of my other self.” 

9.

“about as emotional as a bagpipe.” 

10.

“There comes an end to all things; the most capacious measure is filled at last; and this brief condescension to evil finally destroyed the balance of my soul.” 

11.

“You start a question, and it’s like starting a stone. You sit quietly on the top of a hill; and away the stone goes, starting others…” 

12.

“Half an hour from now, when I shall again and for ever reindue that hated personality, I know how I shall sit shuddering and weeping in my chair, or continue, with the most strained and fear-struck ecstasy of listening, to pace up and down this room (my last earthly refuge) and give ear to every sound of menace. Will Hyde die upon the scaffold? or will he find the courage to release himself at the last moment? God knows; I am careless; this is my true hour of death, and what is to follow concerns another than myself. Here, then, as I lay down the pen, and proceed to seal up my confession, I bring the life of that unhappy Henry Jekyll to an end.” 

13.

” I have been made to learn that the doom and burden of our life is bound forever on man’s shoulders; and when the attempt is made to cast it off, it but returns upon us with more unfamiliar and more awful pressure.” 

Robert Louis Stevenson, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde

Leave a Reply

